• Music in the Hills

  • Drumberley, Book 2
  • By: D. E. Stevenson
  • Narrated by: Lesley Mackie
  • Series: Drumberley, Book 2
  • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 01-06-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Soundings
  • 5 out of 5 stars 5.0 (2 ratings)


After spending time combatting terrorists in Malaya, James Dering returns to Scotland. He starts a new life at Mureth House, the home of his aunt and uncle, Mamie and Jock Johnstone, where he hopes to learn to be a farmer. But he soon learns that picking up farming isn't an easy task and is made even more complicated by the unexpected ups and down of rural village life. Sheep-stealing crooks, village gossip, lovestruck teenage runaways, and a brunette bombshell all disturb the peaceful solitude James had willingly signed up for. And, of course, there's Rhoda Ware, the woman he left behind....
Could she be the key to James' happiness?
©1950 D. E. Stevenson (P)2015 Story Sound
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £19.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Jerri C on 24-06-17

Return to Scotland

Dorothy Emily Stevenson (D. E. Stevenson), first cousin once removed to Robert Louis Stevenson and born in Edinburgh sets many of her delightful novels in Scotland. In this novel, set and written in the early 1950's when the impact of WWII, including rationing of food and petrol (gasoline) was still impacting the island of Britain, James returns from military service in the Far East to live on a farm in the Scottish boarders area with his aunt and uncle and learn to be a farmer.

This book contains some mystery, some romance, and much more. Real characters that the reader comes to care about. A location in Scotland that is a delight.

This book is the second in a trilogy. The first, Vittoria Cottage, is already available from Audible. Hopefully the third (titled Winter and Rough Weather in England and Shoulder the Sky in the US) will be added soon. Leslie Mackie has a delightful Scots accent that adds a touch of atmosphere to the story, while still being easy for the American listener to understand.

Read more Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By L.W. on 23-12-17

Good story, clean,

What made the experience of listening to Music in the Hills the most enjoyable?

If you are sick listening to the F word every sentence and you don’t want to think that men think only about sex and if you cannot stand Sebastian York’s voice this might be the series for you. I listened all the way through . It has a good story, it is of another time and it is beautiful. Hardworking folks, considerate, caring. Beautiful setting. Some intrigue.
I didn’t love the narration all the time, but it was good.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews