Music of the Soul

  • by Erik Schubach
  • Narrated by Pamela Lorence
  • 8 hrs and 34 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mandy Harris, the rock world's bad girl, has lost her sense of self. Turning her back on the music she once loved, she returns to her hometown. After a chance meeting with Anabella, a deaf girl with a unique appreciation for music and life, she finds herself irresistibly drawn to her. Finding love, pain, and a new sense of self. Their passion gives them the strength to heal both of their pasts, and start again. This is the first book in the Music of the Soul series, all volumes are stand alone novels.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

soft romance

Okay, I guess this is a first novel by Erik Schubach, the novel is a lesbian romance, there is no erotica in the story. The tale is about a rock star, Mandy who decides to take a break and head home to find she runs into Anabella, a fan who is deaf and they fall in love, but then separate when Mandy believes she has badly messed up Anabella life with her fame and bad image of the past. Okay, in terms of the story itself. First to say it took me a a bit to get use to the narrator who seemed to improve over time, in the end she was okay, and I liked the two voices she used for the characters. But it was hard going at first, as she sounded a bit too sweet. The audio quality is okay, put check that please as it is subjective. The story is a pleasant romance and includes a far amount of gentle wit and cute family observations/banter. The story itself is fairly predictable, so its a pleasant listen, not really edge of your seat stuff. There are some stretches of reality I found hard to believe, The age of the characters seem too young for the dialog, some of the dialogue and witty references, make it easy to identify the author, and and that should not be the case. There are a number of emotional built ups, and some of them don't make too much sense from a plot perspective or character (things people would not do in real life, like stop to look at a billboard of your loved one, when suppose to be racing to get to them to save their life). In general its a nice, emotional story and I like the characters, the batter and dialog is good, I just felt the characters needed to be more "in character", and some of the drama was a bit fabricated or hyperbole, and did not fit with the characters themselves. Okay for a first novel. There was an some elements missing from the novel which would have strengthened it, the journey to love was a bit short lived, and a bit too much touring. In any case (rambling..). Worth a listen, and a good romance lesbian novel without erotica. 7/10.
Read full review

- Alice

One of the better stories, well worth a listen.

I wasn't too sure about this to start with. Mainly because I wasn't sure about the narrators voice, but that's *nothing* to do with the way the narrator tackled the story, and had everything to do with personal preference because I found her voice just pitched slightly high for my taste. So kudos to Pamela Lorence for doing a good enough job for me to be able to easily look past that. She serious deserves an encore for managing to allow me to focus fully on the story and nothing else.

After listen to the sample I took a chance,and it came as some surprise to find I really enjoyed the way the story was woven together. The whole thing really revolves around how friendships can be some of the most important things in a persons life. Good friends who understand you without needing to be prompted, and how that can evolve into unspoken support. Sure, it was easy to work out the whys and the wherefores as the plot developed. However, it keeps you engaged, and you look forward to the end. There is also some good use of humour sprinkled within the characters dialogue.

The narrator does a very good job, making sure there is a definitive line between characters and emotions. And unlike some recordings out there, this one is pretty good engineering wise.
Read full review

- Crackdown

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-04-2014
  • Publisher: Erik Schubach