Mysterium I: Rome

  • by Mitchel Fidel
  • Narrated by Phillip J Mather
  • 5 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Jesus of Nazareth has been dead for some 65 years. The eyewitnesses to this extraordinary life have died, often as martyrs, and only a scattered handful remain. Might anyone have resolved to interview those last few before it was too late, it being a matter of mind-boggling importance? What if someone had?
Mysterium I: Rome presents the story of a young Roman scholar who determines to do precisely that. This sleuth who has the will and the means to comb the Roman Empire for answers is Theophilus, "Lover of God". Opening his very first scroll of Christian scripture, and finding his own name there, catalyzes a series of events that seemingly promises a life mission full of heroic discovery. But soon, Theophilus has cause to wonder about the advisability of his investigation. Danger looms, while he is on the scent of the unfathomable in ominous cavities of a city where so very much is hidden. Catacombs. Forbidden archives. "Witches Hill", a.k.a. the Vatican.
In Rome, life is stupendously raw. Theophilus' adventures put him in congress with gladiators, prostitutes, torturers, crucifiers, conquerors, sorcerers, swindlers, schemers, and an aristocratic matron who insists that she is a daughter of the Beast. Pulled relentlessly toward ever more mystifying mysteries, Theophilus comes to realize that he has undertaken a quest after the secret of secrets.
Rome is the first book of a six-part Mysterium series. Mysterium I: Rome also contains Discussion Guide questions.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I really tried. The recording is terrible and the narrator is impossible to understand. Sounds like a basso profundo Demosthenes with his mouth crammed full of pebbles. When he tries to change voices between characters, the narration becomes even more unintelligible. Please EQ this recording and get a different narrator.
Read full review

- Carlos

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-06-2016
  • Publisher: Denouement Literary Agency, LLC