Night Shift: Selections

  • by Stephen King
  • Narrated by John Glover
  • 10 hrs and 33 mins
  • highlights Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A collection of tales to invade and paralyse the mind as the safe light of day is infiltrated by the shadows of the night. As you listen, the clutching fingers of terror brush lightly across the nape of the neck, reach round from behind to clutch and lock themselves, white-knuckled, around the throat.
This is the horror of ordinary people and everyday objects that become strangely altered; a world where nothing is ever quite what it seems, where the familiar and the friendly lure and deceive. A world where madness and blind panic become the only reality.
Includes the stories "Jerusalem's Lot", "Graveyard Shift", "Night Surf", "I Am The Doorway", "The Mangler", "The Boogeyman", "Gray Matter", "Battleground", "Sometimes They Come Back", "Strawberry Spring", "The Ledge", "The Lawnmower Man", "Quitters, Inc.", "I Know What You Need", "The Last Rung on the Ladder", "The Man Who Loved Flowers", "One For The Road" and "The Woman in the Room".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good collection of stories

Good collection of stories, listens like a tales from the crypt comic book. There are some seriously spooky offerings. Warning! I’m sure that this audiobook is missing some stories that appear in the published book. The only one I could remember not being on the audio book was Children of the Corn but i’m sure there are more missing. 3/5
Read full review

- kmcca5


I loved this book of short stories so much that I listened to them all in one day. I couldn't stop listening. Some of the stories are mediocre, but most are brilliant. Stephen King is one of my favorite authors and he is just as good at writing short stories like these as he is at full-length novels. Well worth the read.

The narrator was fantastic, he really helped to set the story at times, he has a great voice and is easy to listen to.
Read full review

- Sarah Tilsley

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-08-2012
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton