No Child of Mine

  • by Susan Lewis
  • Narrated by Julia Franklin
  • 16 hrs and 58 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Alex Lake’s day job is all about helping people, especially children. She cares about them passionately and does everything in her power to rescue them from those who mean them harm.
When the case of three-year-old Ottilie Wade comes to her attention, Alex finds herself completely unable to detach from the child the way she should. She feels an overpowering need to make a real difference in little Ottilie’s life, but no one is prepared to believe that Ottilie is in danger.
In the end, Alex makes a decision that has consequences for her, her family and Ottilie - consequences that no one, least of all Alex, could have foreseen.


What the Critics Say

"With an unflinching gaze, based on her own traumatic experiences, she brings us life in all its raw intensity. The result of such honesty, insight and understanding is a string of gripping novels that bristle with drama, complexity and heart-rending reality." (Lancashire Evening Post)
"A moving and powerful story...I couldn’t put it down!" (Peterborough Telegraph, 9/10 stars)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gripping storytelling

I have never listened to or read Susan Lewis before this but was persuaded to download this audiobook after listening to a free chapter. I am so glad I did as it is definitely one of my most memorable listens of the year and probably my fastest listen. I was so involved in the story and so caught up in the lives of the characters that I really felt part of their lives and constantly wondered what I would do in their situation. Susan Lewis is a great storyteller and Julia Franklin the perfect narrator. If you like the story telling talents of Joanna Trollope or Penny Vincenzi (as I do) you will love this.
Read full review

- Saffy

No child of Mine

This was in many ways a very sad story, but it was extremely interesting and brilliantly narrated
Read full review

- Stella

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-07-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks