No Highway

  • by Nevil Shute
  • Narrated by Ben Elliot
  • 11 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicuous aircraft engineer whose eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism are frowned upon in aviation circles. But when a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Honey must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost.
The title, No Highway, is taken from the poem "The Wanderer" by John Masefield, which Shute quotes at the start of the book:
"Therefore, go forth, companion: when you find
No Highway more, no track, all being blind,
The way to go shall glimmer in the mind."

Nevil Shute Norway (17 January 1899 - 12 January 1960) was a popular British-Australian novelist and a successful aeronautical engineer. He studied at Balliol College, Oxford, and published his first novel, Marazan, in 1926. During the Second World War he joined the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve where he worked on developing secret weapons, but after the conflict he continued to write and settled in Australia where he lived until his death on 12 January 1960. His most celebrated novels include Pied Piper (1942), No Highway (1948), A Town Like Alice (1950) and On the Beach (1957).

More

What the Critics Say

"Mr Shute is a storyteller in the tradition of R.L Stevenson and Kipling." (Evening News)
"No Highway is a novel which engages the heart and grips the mind." (Evening Standard)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great story but dated gender roles

Excellent story set in early 1950s showing the difficulties of communications before mobile phones in the investigation of air accidents. A recent listen to Neville Shute' s autobiography 'Slide Rule' gave the story added meaning as it sets out the author's expertise. Although dated, the story hangs together well and sets a good pace. Ben Elton's reading is enjoyable although a couple of accents get mangled occasionally.
Read full review

- Colin

An old story with present relevance

Nevil Shute was one of the great story tellers of the last century, the essence of his tale is still relevant as we see the Dreamliner grounded for modifications shortly after entering service. If you have never read this book give yourself a treat and do so - if you have read it try listening to it - you will find it fresh as ever.
Read full review

- david

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-11-2012
  • Publisher: Audible Studios