No Such Thing as Luck

  • by Nicole Clarkston
  • Narrated by Ana Clements
  • 14 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

John Thornton is facing the collapse of everything he has worked for all of his life. Through his banker, he hears about a potential business opportunity that could save the mill. He decides to investigate, even if it means traveling from home when he can least afford it.
Margaret Hale, now living in London, learns that her godfather Mr. Bell is visiting her brother Frederick in Cadiz. Bell is dying, and asking to see her before it is too late. She is determined to sail, regardless of the risk.
An accident on the docks leaves Margaret injured, and throws both together on the same ship. Thornton, resolved to protect Margaret's honor despite their painful history, claims to be her brother to keep her safe. Unfortunately, pretending to be Margaret's brother proves more difficult - and more dangerous - than he might have expected.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great! - Recommended

I'd recommend this for fans of North and South as the story is very sympathetic to the original book. The characters felt very true to their counterparts in the original version and I could easily picture them in my mind's eye in this variation.
I felt that the narrator's performance of Mr. Thornton sounded very monotone in the beginning but I soon got used to it. I liked the subtle northern accent which was well done.
I loved the story line and I wouldn't hesitate to buy more from the author.

I voluntarily reviewed a gifted copy.
Read full review

- Inishowen Cailin

Excellent Listen!!!

I really enjoyed listening to this book. I haven't listened to many Victorian Romances (mid 1800's) but found this one to pull me in. I thought the story was very well written.

John Thornton and Margaret Hale were two endearing characters. I loved Thornton for how chivalrous and honorable he was, and for what he was willing to sacrifice.

Regarding the narrator, Ana Clements. I was impressed with her multitude of various character voices and accents she performed. I love it when a narrator has distinguishable characters.

One of my favorite parts of the book was near the ending when Margaret and Mrs. Thorton met at White Chapel.

I was given a copy of this audiobook and selected to write my review. I will definitely look for more books by both the author and narrator.
Read full review

- Jan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-07-2016
  • Publisher: Nicole Clarkston