• by David Mitchell
  • Narrated by William Rycroft
  • 16 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

As Eiji Miyake's 20th birthday nears, he sets out for the seething metropolis of Tokyo to find the father he has never met. There, he begins a thrilling journey where dreams, memories and reality collide as Eiji is caught up in a feverish succession of encounters by turn bizarre, hilarious, and shockingly dangerous. But until Eiji has fallen in love and exorcised his childhood demons, the belonging he craves will remain just beyond his grasp.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Suprb narration of a difficult book

Any additional comments?

The story itself is a serious and complex interweaving of dream, reality, love, violence rejection and acceptance as the 20 year old hero finds himself and his past. Reading the story aloud presents the narrator with challenges found in few other works and William Rycroft could not have done the job better, as his vivacity, characterisation and clarity lifts this book from page to the reader. I know I shall come back to this book. If it is to the print rather than the audio version, Rycroft's voice will never be far from my mind.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Wooden and Tedious

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

At times I thought this book was written for children and if a few details were omitted, and some swearing, could easily become a children's book.

What could David Mitchell have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

The dialogue as stilted, wooden and unconvincing.

The characters were boring and loathsome.

The story was slow and dreary.

I could not wait for the book to end.

Would you be willing to try another one of William Rycroft’s performances?

No I would not.

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

None at all.

Any additional comments?

Avoid at all cost.

Read full review

- Andy D "trojanfoe"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2012
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks