Old Filth : Old Filth

  • by Jane Gardam
  • Narrated by Bill Wallace
  • Series: Old Filth
  • 9 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Long ago, Old Filth was a Raj orphan - one of the many young children sent 'home' from the East to be fostered and educated in England.
Jane Gardam's novel tells his story, from his birth in what was then Malaya to the extremities of his old age. In so doing, she not only encapsulates a whole period from the glory days of British Empire, through the Second World War, to the present and beyond, but also illuminates the complexities of the character known variously as Eddie, the Judge, Fevvers, Filth, Master of the Inner Temple, Teddy and Sir Edward Feathers.


What the Critics Say

"A magnificent, deeply moving and compassionate portrait of an era and a sentimental education. Please read it." (Daily Mail)
"Beautiful, vivid and defiantly funny." (The Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This book looks back at the life of an old barrister and judge as he comes to the end of his life, so prepare for jumping around in time and location, and only having answers to some questions posed at the beginning resolved at the end.

The narrator was great. I easily listened to this through a number of car journeys, but would probably have been frustrated if I'd read this as a book, ie dedicating time and effort especially for this. The end result feels like, life is pretty pointless. There seems to be no reason put forward by the author for life, or a moral of sorts, so felt a bit empty by the end.
Read full review

- Miss

Interesting read

Very interesting, especially if you like Passage to India. Supplements one's understanding of the Raj well. The boy's childhood makes one's heart ache.
Read full review

- Klosterneuburg Kid

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-06-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK