One Step Closer to You

  • by Alice Peterson
  • Narrated by Laura Kirman
  • 9 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After Polly ends her relationship with the father of her young son, Louis, she is determined to move on. All she wants is to focus on her job, her friends, and to be a good mum. No more looking over her shoulder. No more complications.... Then Polly meets Ben.
Ben is guardian of his niece, Emily. They become close, with Polly teaching Ben how to plait Emily's hair, and Ben playing football with Louis. Their friendship is unexpected. Polly’s never been happier. But when Louis' dad reappears in their life, all Polly’s mistakes come back to haunt her and her resolve weakens when he swears he has changed.
Will she give herself a second chance to love?
A heart-warming and touching novel, this is Alice Peterson at her emotional and uplifting best. For fans of Lucy Dillon and Jojo Moyes.

More

What the Critics Say

"Polly’s journey will keep you guessing and make you root for her with all your heart. A book that won’t fade easily from your memory" (Daniela Sacerdoti, author of Watch Over Me)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

loved it

Have enjoyed all the A Peterson books I have read. They are different to the usual boring and predictable chick lit. The characters are realistic, everyday but always have their own, unique life problems to get through, learn from and overcome. This was my first book on audible and I wasn't sure how I would feel about having it read out loud to me. It was relaxing! My imagination was still firing off with my own pictures in my mind. I was using my new Echo Alexa which gives a good sound. I liked the reader's clear voice. She subtly changed her voice when speaking as a child or as a man- but in a believable way. Thank you Alice for another wonderful story.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 25-09-2014
  • Publisher: Quercus