One Summer

  • by David Baldacci
  • Narrated by Ron McLarty, Orlagh Cassidy
  • 8 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A moving story of love, second chances and the importance of family from the Number One International Bestseller.
When Jack Canfield is told he has a terminal illness and that he has weeks to live, his first concern is for his beloved wife, Lizzie, and children, baby Jack, Cory and rebellious teenager Mikki.
On Christmas Eve, when Lizzie comes home, Jack is devastated to see his neighbour, Bill Miller, kiss Lizzie on their driveway. Jack confronts her, she tries to explain he's got it all wrong, and distraught, she leaves the house into an ice storm - and a fatal collision with a truck. Overwhelmed with grief, and with his illness worsening Jack is taken into a hospice. The children move to the West Coast to live with various members of the family. But then a miracle happens. Jack begins to recover, and day by day he starts to heal. Confounding the doctors, Jack leaves the hospital without any evidence of the illness.
Unexpectedly the family inherits a beautiful old villa with a lighthouse on the beach in South Carolina. It was the house where Lizzie grew up and Jack feels an inexplicable closeness to her while he's there. Although his mother-in-law, Bonnie, has other ideas for their future, Jack knows that this is the chance he has to re-build his relationship with his kids. And as he struggles to reconnect with the children, he also has the chance to find love again, perhaps even with Lizzie's help.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

tear jerker!

Loved every minute of this audiobook. Upset when it finished. storyline a bit far fetched at times . Would recommend this to anyone.
Read full review

- siobhan

This love story so well written, a lovely change

David Baldacci is amazing all his books I have listed to are fantastic :) 

Ron McLarty and Orlagh Cassidy are very talanted they make the Audio book worth listening to.
Read full review

- Phillip

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-08-2011
  • Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio