Only Time Will Tell: Clifton Chronicles, Book 1

  • by Jeffrey Archer
  • Narrated by Roger Allam, Emilia Fox
  • 7 hrs and 45 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Clifton Chronicles is Jeffrey Archer's most ambitious work in four decades as an international best-selling author. The epic tale of Harry Clifton's life begins in 1920, with the chilling words, 'I was told that my father was killed in the war.' But it will be another 20 years before Harry discovers how his father really died, which will only lead him to question: who was his father? Is he the son of Arthur Clifton, a stevedore who worked in Bristol docks, or the first born son of a scion of West Country society, whose family owns a shipping line?
Only Time Will Tell covers the years from 1920 to 1940, and includes a cast of memorable characters that The Times has compared to The Forsyte Saga. Volume One takes us from the ravages of the Great War to the outbreak of the Second World War, when Harry must decide whether to take up a place at Oxford, or join the navy and go to war with Hitler's Germany.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Jeffrey does it again

Yet Another fantastic story. Holds you from the first page and leaves you hanging for the next book. Highly recommend
Read full review

- Jeanette Old

thoroughly enjoyed

Narrator was excellent. Fab story . Will continue with the next book in the
Read full review

- Pumpkin

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-05-2011
  • Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio