Outlaw : The Outlaw Chronicles (Donald)

  • by Angus Donald
  • Narrated by Graham Padden
  • Series: The Outlaw Chronicles (Donald)
  • 13 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When he's caught stealing, young Alan Dale is forced to leave his family and go to live with a notorious band of outlaws in Sherwood Forest. Their leader is the infamous Robin Hood. A tough, bloodthirsty warrior, Robin is more feared than any man in the county. And he becomes a mentor for Alan; with his fellow outlaws, Robin teaches Alan how to fight - and how to win.
But Robin is a ruthless man - and although he is Alan's protector, if Alan displeases him, he could also just as easily become his murderer....
From bloody battles to riotous feast days to marauding packs of wolves, Outlaw is a gripping, action-packed historical thriller that delves deep into the fascinating legend of Robin Hood.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Worth persisting

I started by thinking Graham Padden was a little mono tonal and was almost inclined to stop listening. However, there turned out to be more intonation than I originally suspected and an enjoyable story. I have even downloaded the next volume!
Read full review

- Angela

Really interesting

Although there has been some criticism over the violent nature of Robin Hood character (who is no the "leading" character by the way), I must disagree. As the main character, Alan, describes the persona of Robin Hood is divided. He is as Friar Tuck says it "hot cold person". He has the strong inner circle for which he would do anything. And who is left out is literally left out. I have found the Outlaw series very interesting. But I guess that the same might go for this series. Those that like it, like it really much. But if you are outside the circle (might not like somewhat graphic violence for example) are really left out.

If you enjoyed Game Of Thrones in TV - here is a good place to continue! The final 8th book will be out next year, and I simply can't wait to listen to it.
Also note; the reader changes later in the series, but not for the worst!
Read full review

- MrFrozen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-10-2011
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK