Portuguese Irregular Verbs : Portuguese Irregular Verbs

  • by Alexander McCall Smith
  • Narrated by Hugh Laurie
  • Series: Portuguese Irregular Verbs
  • 3 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the British Book Awards, Author of the Year, 2004.
Winner of the CWA Dagger in the Library Award, 2004.
Alexander McCall Smith, best-selling author of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, has turned his hand to humour. The delightful result is a creation of comic genius. For in the unnaturally tall form of Professor Doctor Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld, we are invited to meet a memorable character whose sublime insouciance is a blend of the cultivated pomposity of Frasier Crane and of Inspecteur Clouseau's hapless gaucherie.Von Igelfeld inhabits the rarefied world of the Institute of Romance Philology at Regensburg, a world he shares with his equally tall and equally ridiculous colleagues, Professors Florianus Prinzel and Detlev Amadeus Unterholzer. Their unlikely adventures are described in three deliciously funny instalments: Portuguese Irregular Verbs, The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs, and At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Hugh Laurie is a joy to listen to

An eccentric comic novel which gently parodies the academic life. Hugh Laurie's reading is a joy, he manages 6 or 7 different German character's voices, a number of Italians, and Irish, among others, both male and female, and gives each character their distinctive voice, accent and mannerisms, preserving this during dialogue. He knows exactly the right tone of voice to adopt to bring out the humour in the book. I'm looking forward to listening to him read the other books in this trilogy.
Read full review

- Maybelle

I loved it!

I thought it was a delightful story, engagingly read by Hugh Laurie. The humour was gentle but pointed at the rarefied world of the academy. Very reminiscent of PG Wodehouse.
Read full review

- Sylvia

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-02-2007
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK