Praetorian : Eagles of the Empire

  • by Simon Scarrow
  • Narrated by Gareth Armstrong
  • Series: Eagles of the Empire
  • 12 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you don't know Simon Scarrow, you don't know Rome!
Praetorian is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
AD 51. Legionaries Cato and Macro have forged a bond that has survived war, rebellion and torture. Yet nothing has prepared them for a daunting mission on the deadliest battlefield of all: the bloody streets of Rome.
Traitors are threatening to plunge the Empire into bloody chaos and no one can be trusted. The Emperor has ordered Cato and Macro to go on a deadly mission, working undercover to root out the traitors before Rome tears itself apart.
As the true scale of the corruption dawns, they realise they are facing terrifying odds. Two men against many, in a desperate race to save not only the Empire, but each other....

More

What the Critics Say

"I don't need this kind of competition." (Bernard Cornwell)
"A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read." (Mail on Sunday)
"A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy." (The Times)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The narrator's not in keeping with the books

The narrator makes the characters sound pretty wimpy, especially when Cato and Macro are shouting commands or showing frustration. Jonathan Keeble was much better
Read full review

- Andrew Sutton

Good Story awful performance.

Would you try another book written by Simon Scarrow or narrated by Gareth Armstrong?

Yes. the series is very good, with a good amount of intrigue and action.


What other book might you compare Praetorian to, and why?

Very similiar to the more political Sharpe Books


What didn’t you like about Gareth Armstrong’s performance?

Half of the characters sounds like old and feeble men despite contrary descriptions in the story itself. The voice action is more like a reading of a childrens story rather than an adult book. Difficult to identify some of the comments between the main characters. The actor obviously had a lot of saliva in his mouth during various parts of the performance as you can hear it in the recording.


If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Praetorian?

happy with the story.


Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-12-2011
  • Publisher: Headline Digital