Renegade : Insurrection trilogy

  • by Robyn Young
  • Narrated by Nick McArdle
  • Series: Insurrection trilogy
  • 19 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Born to a line of Kings, he will now bow to a conqueror.
King Edward of England marches on Scotland like an avenging tide. One man alone can thwart his ambition to rule all of Britain. Robert Bruce's veins run with the blood of kings, and he burns to fulfill his family's claim to the throne of Scotland.
But on the run through the wilds of Ireland, hunted by a relentless assassin, Robert seems a long way from achieving his destiny. And there are other eyes on Scotland's crown, and old enemies gather against him.
This is a game of conquest, power and treachery, and Robert finds that to survive he must first abandon everything he holds dear. He was always prepared to die on the battlefield - but what else must he sacrifice to keep his hopes alive?


What the Critics Say

Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters' Daily Mail 'Immaculately researched and carefully written, evoking a very particular - and largely unexplored - time and place. The fights are sensational.' Daily Telegraph 'An outstanding contemporary writer' Kate Mosse on Robyn Young


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great book and Trilogy

A great trilogy which is well researched, mixing fiction and fact to give a great story of Medieval Britain.

The narrator does the novel justice with his accents and different voices for each character. You could tell who is who without being given the names of the character speaking.

Great author, perfect narrator.
Read full review

- Darren Bradshaw

Strong story

Some weak writing in my opinion done just for effect but most listeners wouldn't e bothered by that

Bruce is a irritating character but the novel is good on whole for a genre story. And narrator fine.
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 30-08-2012
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton