Rock Chick Reckoning : Rock Chick

  • by Kristen Ashley
  • Narrated by Susannah Jones
  • Series: Rock Chick
  • 16 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Stella Gunn is the lead singer and lead guitarist of the Blue Moon Gypsies, and Stella used to be Mace’s girl. But Kai “Mace” Mason broke up with her and the loss of him rocked her world. One night, Stella gets a call, late (again), from one of the members of her crazy band. She has to go play clean up (again) and runs into Mace (and a shed load of police) and ends up getting shot. Mace finds he doesn’t like it much that his ex-girlfriend got shot right in front of him, but it’s worse. A very bad man has thrown down the gauntlet, and all the Rock Chicks are in the firing line. Stella doesn’t want Mace to be the one to keep her alive, but she has no choice. Mainly because Mace isn’t giving her one.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Another cracker!

Love the characters, the fact that they all feature in each other's tales, love the attitude and sass of the girls and the pure grit of the lads! The Rock chicks and Hot bunch never let you down!! Rock on!!
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Disappointing addition to a great series

I am an avid Kristen Ashley fan and even a bad KA book is still a lot better than many other books out there in this genre. But I struggled with this book because I did not like the heroine, who had big “issues” about her parents, but never really dealt with them. She happily let the H take care of her problems and then wondered why he dumped her saying she was too “needy”. She creates major problems by insisting that her band continue to perform and selfishly ignores the great risk to everyone around her. She doesn’t even notice that her boyfriend has major “demons” of his own. She dated the guy for months and never even did a simple google search to find about him – she was just so wrapped up in herself.

The romance in this book was unconvincing. This couple had a past which did not seem to involve any real talking, and I could not understand the reasons for the H wanting her back. She put up a bit of resistance under the usual “I don’t want to be with him because it will hurt too much when he leaves” plot device, but pretty soon was letting him take care of all her problems again. And what’s with her inner brain monologues? I felt like I had switched over to FSOG and that “inner goddess” This was not good! The H, who had spent the first half of the book declaring he was back in her life, then dumps her again for no decent reason! Up until this point I quite liked him. Following their inevitable reconciliation we get a cringe-worthy Disney-like chapter were she reunites him with his mother (who adores him, but in seven years had apparently made no attempt to contact him), and we meet the cartoon villain father who does something so out of character at the end of the book it was impossible to believe it was the same person.

Everybody from the past Rock Chick books were featured in this book and it just felt confusing. I have read the series, in order, but the constant barrage of names at every event and every chapter was annoying and distracting. Many chapters were written from the perspective of other Rock Chicks which was disconcerting. The obligatory fabulous sex got boring and those fabulous KA heroines have morphed into clones who no longer seem to exist in a real world where people have jobs and other obligations. Their only occupation is to troop around as a group interfering in each other’s lives and getting way too personally involved with each other’s problems.

KA is known for her epilogues but this one was disappointing. Crammed full of names, along with future spouses and children of pretty much everyone in Denver (or that’s what it felt like), it was just confusing and carried no deep emotion.

I love KA books but her latest ones have been very hit and miss. Give this one a miss and read, “At Peace” or “Sweet Dreams” and you will understand why KA fans are so loyal!
Read full review

- Susan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-06-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios