• by Orson Scott Card
  • Narrated by Paul Boehmer, Stefan Rudnicki, Emily Janice Card
  • 25 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This is an epic of independence and devotion, of hardship and fulfillment, of a woman so strong that knowing her could change your life.
When 10-year-old Dinah Kirkham saw her father leave their Manchester home in the middle of the night, she asked when he would be back. “Soon,” he replied. But he never came back. On that night in 1829, John Kirkham laid the foundation of his daughter’s certainty that the only person Dinah could ever really trust was herself.
From that day forward, Dinah worked to support her family, remaining devoted to their welfare even in the face of despair and grinding poverty. Then one day she heard a new message; a new purpose ignited in her heart, and new life opened up before her.


What the Critics Say

“Card’s magnum opus deserves a wider readership than it has hitherto enjoyed. Best known for his fantasy fiction…Card does an excellent job of depicting the Dickensian horrors of England undergoing industrialization in the early 19th century as well as the early trials of the Church of the Latter-Day Saints as experienced by his heroine…Not just for the LDS faithful…this ambitious novel will appeal to anyone interested in a sensitive examination of the roots of religious feeling.” ( Publishers Weekly)
“Orson Scott Card is a powerful storyteller with the gift of making mundane things sparkle…an engrossing epic.” ( Los Angeles Times Book Review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

How much is too many?

A young family are abandoned by their father in Manchester. The children are sent to work and gradually make their way in the world.

A mormon preacher converts siblings Dinah and Charlie and their mother; and they set sail to America to live with other converts. They have to go back to the basic life they escaped, then deal with polygamy and prejudice.
Read full review

- sarahmoose2000

Book Details

  • Release Date: 18-01-2011
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.