Shelter for Sophie : Badge of Honor: Texas Heroes

  • by Susan Stoker
  • Narrated by Erin Mallon
  • Series: Badge of Honor: Texas Heroes
  • 7 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

She's shy, he's stoic...not the hardest personality traits to overcome, but Sophie Carson and Roman "Chief" Proudfit have their work cut out for them.
Sophie has a crush on the silent-but-studly firefighter next door. She's been pining away silently while secretly helping the hardworking man by mowing his lawn - which he thinks is being done by her nonexistent husband and/or boyfriend. He's definitely not big on neighborly chitchat, but with her stutter, that suits Sophie just fine. But now a misunderstanding at a bar has put him even further out of her reach.
Roman's difficult upbringing on an Indian reservation is a sore spot, so when he thinks Sophie is taking advantage of poor people for medical trials at her workplace, he lets her know exactly what he thinks. But when he discovers he misunderstood, he's man enough to admit it...and also that he should have opened his eyes to his beautiful, sensitive neighbor sooner.
As the couple gets closer, each helping the other overcome lifelong pains, for the first time in years, Roman has something to live for other than his job. And, as he discovers when Sophie puts herself in danger, something even bigger to lose....
Shelter for Sophie is the eighth book in the Badge of Honor: Texas Heroes Series. Each book is a stand-alone, with no cliffhanger endings.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

it was ok

narration perfect but the story was weak and sickly sweet . Won't be listening again
Read full review

- Gail

Another lovely read

I love Susan Stoker. The books always have good characters in them and the female roles within are not just the archetypal pretty girl/perfect girl. I'm a sucker for a happy ending and I love that there are intermingling stories within the series you can follow.
Read full review

- Cryptic Fairy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2017
  • Publisher: Susan Stoker