Shot Through the Heart : Detective Grace Fisher

  • by Isabelle Grey
  • Narrated by Melody Grove
  • Series: Detective Grace Fisher
  • 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Who can you turn to if not the police?
Essex, Christmas Day. As the residents of a small town enjoy their mince pies, shots ring out in the street. Five people are gunned down before the lone shooter turns his weapon on himself.
Grace Fisher, now Detective Inspector, is tasked with making some sense of this atrocity - all the more sensitive because the first of the victims was one of their own: a police officer. The case throws her back together with crime reporter Ivo Sweatman, but as she investigates it becomes clear that the police connection goes much deeper than she thought. As the evidence of corruption grows and she is obstructed at every turn, Grace knows she is walking further into danger. Then, her young key witness disappears....
What far-reaching compromises will Grace have to make to safeguard the innocent?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A huge improvement on the first book

I found this a really enjoyable listen. The characters were more fleshed out than the previous book and the plot had greater momentum.
Read full review

- FrannyC

Second in the series but better than the first

I wasn't sure what to expect with this book and I thought it was going to be a poor sequel to the first book in the series but I was wrong.

I thought the story telling was better in this book and there was a little more action, although in common with the first book there is plenty of police corruption and dodgy dealings to last the full story. Whilst it might not have been entirely believable I felt we got to know some of the characters a little better in this story.

Suspend disbelief and just enjoy the story for what it is and you'll enjoy the suspense and excitement as the case gets closer and closer to its conclusion. I look forward to reading more from this author.
Read full review

- Mr Robert Butler

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-03-2016
  • Publisher: Quercus