Summary

Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession by best-selling historian Alison Weir, author of Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen, is the second captivating novel in the Six Tudor Queens series. An unforgettable portrait of the ambitious woman whose fate we know all too well, but whose true motivations may surprise you. Essential listening for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick.
The young woman who changed the course of history.
Fresh from the palaces of Burgundy and France, Anne draws attention at the English court, embracing the play of courtly love.
But when the King commands, nothing is ever a game.
Anne has a spirit worthy of a crown - and the crown is what she seeks. At any price.
Anne Boleyn. The second of Henry's Queens. Her story.
History tells us why she died. This powerful novel shows her as she lived.
Six Tudor Queens. Six novels. Six years.
©2017 Alison Weir (P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life." The Guardian)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £24.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Buy Now for £24.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Privacy Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 30-09-17

Wonderful fresh telling

Very interesting to to have Anne approached in a way that contrasts the many other novels of her life.
Alison Weir has long been my favourite author of historical fiction, and I have enjoyed the first two books in the 6 wives series almost as much as innocent traitor, which I still believe to be her finest work.
I enjoyed the performance of Anna Bentinck, but the version I listened to needs editing, there are several mistakes and even a double take of the same initially mispronounced sentence.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Charlotte on 14-04-18

Great story but bad editing.

Would you listen to Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession again? Why?

I had to give up listening the first time and have gone back to reading the book. With no disrespect to the narrator, her voice was too old for the young Anne and who ever mixed this left small mouth noises in, either that or she kept rustling papers. However by cleaning up the recording these little noises that irritate when listen to on head phones could be eliminated and I could then get over the age of the reader.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession?

Did not listen long enough each time to get into it. However when reading the book Alison Weir does an all round fantastic job building the scene and welcoming you into a Tudor world.

Any additional comments?

If you are not picky about extra noises and can relax into it by all means listen. However if not then I still urge people to read the book as Alison has done it again with an excellent piece.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews