Sleep, Pale Sister

  • by Joanne Harris
  • Narrated by Steven Pacey
  • 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Henry Chester, a domineering and puritanical Victorian artist, is in search of the perfect model. In nine-year-old Effie he finds her.
Ten years later, lovely, childlike and sedated, Effie seems the ideal wife. But something inside her is about to awaken.
Drawn by her lover, Mose, into a dangerous underworld of intrigue and blackmail, she meets Fanny Miller, the brothel-keeper, and her shadowy daughter, Marta - murdered ten years ago on the day of Henry's weekly visit...And as friendship becomes possession and Henry's secret past is revealed, Effie and Marta plan their revenge together.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Sleep, Tired Reader

Joanne Harris has written some books I have loved and some I have absolutely loathed - this is definitely in the latter category. I lost all interest well before a quarter of it was finished and only got to the end through sheer determination. I disliked all of the characters and really didn't care what happened to any of them. If you suffer from insomnia it might help because it is so boring; nothing much happens apart from drug-induced fantasies issuing from the brains of several psychologically-flawed and unpleasant characters. The one star is given for the narrator. Steven Pacey tries his best but he can't work miracles.
Read full review

- Dr

Brilliant; but macabre.

Talented author. No one wins in this story. I thought too it was a difficult piece for the narrator. He did 100% well. Narrator was a good choice to read this difficult piece. I would like to see authors like D Harkness read some of this author's works to get a feel of what real story writing is about. This story is a bit occult, a bit cliff-hanger, a bit insight into how women could be seen as belongings, & a bit about the predatory nature of the psyche in all of us (male or female).
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-01-2011
  • Publisher: Random House AUDIO GO