Slumdog Millionaire

  • by Vikas Swarup
  • Narrated by Kati Nicholl, Kerry Shale
  • 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winner of 7 Baftas and 8 Oscars awards including Best Film, 'Slumdog Millionaire' is based on Vikas Swarup's bestseller 'Q and A', which only took Swarup two months to write!Read by Kerry Shale, this beautiful award winning audio communicates Vikas' words and narrative to life, allowing the listener to envisage the colour and vibrance of Mumbai and the hard hitting truth of poverty and struggle through the eyes of two young boys and the friends they make along the way. One of the boys comes through it all, knowledgable and determined by answering twelve questions correctly on a gameshow. Stunning an audience of millions, he draws on a store of street wisdom and trivia to provide him with the essential keys, not only to the quiz show, but to life itself. Adapted for the big screen Swarup's achievement have already been marked by winning four Golden Globes and is not to mention delighted having received eleven BAFTA nominations which are due to take place at London's Royal Opera House in February 2009.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

excellent original story

I downloaded this book after my father had listened to it on Radio 4, I would recommend it to anyone, it is the most original story I have read in a long time.
Read full review

- Paula


I am an avid audio book listener and without a doubt this is one of the best books I've ever listened to. The narration is fantastic and really brings the characters to life. The story itself is very emotive and poignant however at times you find yourself laughing out loud. Anyone who has an interest in India and Indian culture will thoroughly enjoy this book as it is extremely eye-opening and informative. The ending is great and has a real twist which the lister/reader wouldnt of guessed, it brought a tear to my eye! I cannot recommend this enough!!
Read full review

- Finola price

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-06-2005
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited