Snapper

  • by Brian Kimberling
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A birdwatcher's guide to the human heart - an unconventional coming of age story from an unforgettable new voice that will appeal to fans of David Vann and Annie Proulx.
Set in a brilliantly observed rural Indiana, 'the bastard son of the Midwest', Snapper is a book about birdwatching, a woman who won't stay true, and a pickup truck that won't start. Here turtles eat alligators for breakfast, Klansmen skulk in the undergrowth, and truckers drop into the diner of a town named Santa Claus to ensure that no child's Christmas letter goes unanswered, while Nathan grapples with the eternal question: Should I stay, or should I go?
Kimberling's vision of small-town life is as characterful as Garrison Keillor's Lake Wobegon, but bristling with the tensions of race, class, poverty, and prejudice, it makes for a bracing listen.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointing

The blurb for this sounded so good, but it was just so random and disjointed. You delved into chapters and just as you were getting somewhere, you were rudely shunted onto the next one - and don't get me started on the abrupt ending.
Read full review

- sarahmoose2000

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-05-2013
  • Publisher: Headline Digital