Snowflakes in the Wind

  • by Rita Bradshaw
  • Narrated by Janine Birkett
  • 12 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Snowflakes in the Wind is a heartwarming story of triumph over adversity by Rita Bradshaw, author of the number one best-selling Dancing in the Moonlight.
It's Christmas Eve 1920 when nine-year-old Abby Kirby's family is ripped apart by a terrible tragedy. Leaving everything she's ever known, Abby takes her younger brother and runs away to the tough existence of the Border farming community.
Years pass. Abby becomes a beautiful young woman and falls in love, but her past haunts her, casting dark shadows. Furthermore, in the very place she's taken refuge is someone who wishes her harm.
With her heart broken, Abby decides to make a new life as a nurse. When the Second World War breaks out, she volunteers as a QA nurse and is sent overseas. However, life takes another unexpected and dangerous turn when she becomes a prisoner of the Japanese. It is then that Abby realises that whatever has gone before is nothing compared to what lies ahead....


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The queen of historical story telling does it again

Very interesting story I was particularly touched by the parts of the tale set in the Far East. Although I have read lots of books in this era I must admit I haven't read many that explore the role of the Japanese in the Second World War. Informative, shocking yet portrayed in the way that only Rita Bradshaw can, including factual information that is shocking yet compelling. A must listen!
The narration wonderful Janine Birkett is now definitely on my favourite lists, to me the way in which she performs accents, different ages was impeccable I found myself totally wrapped up in the story. First class, amazing 5'stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 you won't be disappointed 😊
Read full review

- Bartyboo


Excellent audio book, the narration made me feel like I was part of the story, loved the characters, the humour and sadness. It made doing the ironing so much more enjoyable.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-09-2016
  • Publisher: Macmillan Digital Audio