• by Neil J. Hart
  • Narrated by Simon Hurst
  • 8 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bob Flint is a man with a dream. A dream of running his own bar, Bob's Bar. The only trouble is, since he married Maggie Flint, he hasn't had any money, drive, or ambition.Then, after an horrendous accident with a whiskey bottle, Maggie goes into a coma and Bob discovers her secret life insurance policy just waiting to be collected on. With money from local loan sharks "The Bentleys" borrowed against his windfall, he sets to work making his dream a reality in Maggie's 24 Hour Launderette business, In A Spin.Things would have been great if it wasn't for his outstanding drinking problem, lack of good business sense, haunting visits from his comatose wife, and police investigations into the suspicious circumstances surrounding her accident.To make matters worse, The Bentleys are demanding their money back, and Maggie simply won't die. In fact, the doctors say she could make a full recovery.Bob Flint is a man with another dream. A dream of making it out of this one alive.


What the Critics Say

"Spritz, the impressive debut novel from Neil J Hart, introduces us to some of South Wales' biggest misfits, whose lives become intertwined by a series of whirlwind events." (Jenny McConnell, Presenter 96.4FM Eagle)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A fine debut from a new talent

Spritz is an intriguing mix. Full of wildly dark humour, with a plot that twists and turns, pulling your heart strings as well as tickling your funny bone. Neil J Hart has a wonderful, natural way with dialogue and his only too believeable characters are wonderfully interpreted by the narrator Simon Hurst. I think this book will appeal to anyone who appreciates a well crafted storyline and contemporary language - it is easy to imagine this being brought to life on screen - but for now, I believe that there is a sequel in the pipeline and I for one can't wait to see what happens next.
Read full review

- Joy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 22-07-2008
  • Publisher: Matrix Digital Publishing