Standard Deviation

  • by Katherine Heiny
  • Narrated by Cassandra Campbell
  • 10 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A rueful, funny examination of love, marriage, infidelity and origami. Simultaneously hilarious and heartbreaking, this sensational debut will appeal to fans of David Nicholls, Nick Hornby, Nora Ephron and Lorrie Moore.
Graham Cavanaugh's second wife, Audra, is everything his first wife was not. She considers herself privileged to live in the age of the hair towel; talks nonstop through her epidural, labour and delivery; invites the doorman to move in and the eccentric members of their son's Origami Club to Thanksgiving. She is charming and spontaneous and fun, but life with her can be exhausting.
In the midst of the day-to-day difficulties and delights of marriage and raising a child with Asperger's, his first wife, Elspeth, reenters Graham's life. Former spouses are hard to categorize - are they friends, enemies, old flames or just people who know you really, really well? Graham starts to wonder: how can anyone love two such different women? Did he make the right choice? Is there a right choice?

More

What the Critics Say

"Audra Daltry is a singular creation - a character so funny, so appealing, so sure that she can change the world for her family that she will jump right off the page and take up permanent residence in your heart. Standard Deviation is a marvel." (Kate Atkinson, author of Life After Life)
"A book so funny and perceptive I want to be friends with its author." (Laline Paull, author of The Bees)
"I have been a fan of Katherine Heiny's writing for years but my adoration of her reaches a new apex with this, her first novel, Standard Deviation. It's an irresistibly charming novel about age-old institutions: marriage and parenting. But Heiny's brilliantly drawn characters and her keen insights make both topics feel brand new. A delightful, refreshing novel that illuminates the world of complicated relationships." (Elin Hilderbrand, author of Here's to Us)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Achingly funny, sad and heartwarming

If you are looking for a book that with make you smile, laugh out loud and occasionally make your heart ache, then you will adore this. This is about Graham and Audra, a middle aged married couple bringing up their son who had Asperger’s syndrome in a New York apartment. Graham is quiet and reflective whereas Audra is an outgoing woman who for whom red lights don’t exist and often behaves outrageously mostly to Graham’s chagrin. In the background is Graham’s ex-wife, Elspeth a woman much closer to Graham’s personality and during the course of the story he reflects on whether he did the right thing in leaving Elspeth for Audra.
This is a story about guilt, infidelity, love and eccentricity and it revolves around tricky situations, mostly created by Audra, which Graham has to navigate as time goes by. I loved both Graham and Audra, despite the fact they were occasionally selfish and heartless, sometimes in surprising and shocking ways. There is a fantastic cast of characters, ranging from Mathew the son, the various people Audra invites to stay at the apartment, the origami club, the parents of Matthew’s friends and of course Elspeth herself, all taking us on a journey that I wanted to go on forever.
I was wondering whether I wanted to read this or listen to the Audible version and I am very glad I chose the latter as it was superbly narrated.
This gets a 100% A++++ recommendation from me and I know I will go back to it again and again.
Read full review

- Kaggy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-05-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited