The 13th Apostle

  • by Dermot McEvoy
  • Narrated by John Keating
  • 19 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The story - both romantic and terrifying - of how a handful of men, armed with nothing more than handguns and guts, forced the greatest nation in the world from their shores.
On Easter Monday, April 24, 1916, the first great revolution of the twentieth century began as working-class men and women occupied buildings throughout Dublin, Ireland, including the general post office on O'Connell Street. Among the commoners in the GPO was a young staff captain of the Irish Volunteers named Michael Collins. He was joined a day later by a fourteen-year-old messenger boy, Eoin Kavanagh. Four days later they would all surrender, but they had struck the match that would burn Great Britain out of Ireland for the first time in seven hundred years.
The 13th Apostle is the reimagined story of how Michael Collins, along with his young acolyte Eoin, transformed Ireland from a colony into a nation. Collins's secret weapon was his intelligence system and his assassination squad, nicknamed "The Twelve Apostles." On November 21, 1920, the squad - with its thirteenth member, young Eoin - assassinated the entire British Secret Service in Dublin. Twelve months and sixteen days later, Collins signed the Treaty at 10 Downing Street, which brought into being what is, today, the Republic of Ireland.
An epic novel in the tradition of Thomas Flanagan's The Year of the French and Leon Uris's Trinity, The 13th Apostle is a story that will capture the imagination and hearts of freedom-loving readers everywhere.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

1916- 2016 a rare story

Loved it, "a drink is as good as a payer".
An excellent insight into a tumultuous period in history.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Mixed feelings

A lot of the 1916 story I found interesting but I couldn't stand the modern narrative between the grandson and his wife, it really distracted from the story.
Read full review

- Pamela Hughes

Book Details

  • Release Date: 14-02-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios