The Antipope : Brentford Trilogy

  • by Robert Rankin
  • Narrated by Robert Rankin, Andy Greenhalgh, David Gooderson
  • Series: Brentford Trilogy
  • 9 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Outside the sun shines. Buses rumble towards Ealing Broadway and I'm expected to do battle with the powers of darkness. It all seems a little unfair..." You could say it all started with the red-eyed tramp with the slimy fingers who put the wind up Neville, the part-time barman, something rotten. Or when Archroy's wife swapped his trusty Morris Minor for five magic beans while he was out at the rubber factory. On the other hand, you could say it all started a lot earlier. Like 450 years ago, when Borgias walked the earth. Pooley and Ornally, stars of the Brentford Labour Exchange and the Flying Swan, want nothing to do with it, especially if there's a Yankee and a pint of Large in the offing. Pope Alexander VI, last of the Borgias, has other ideas.

More

What the Critics Say

"Superb! A totally brilliant way to revise" (Daily Express)
"A wealth of useful material." (Times Educational Supplement)
"Refreshing¿ clear and lively¿ a stimulating study aid." (Sunday Times)
"Impressive teaching and study aid." (SNIP Magazine)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Anti-pope

The book is in the vein of Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett but in the occult rather than sci-fi or fantasy. A friend recommended this book a long time ago and I never got around to getting a copy. Browsing audible I saw it and thought I would give it a try. It was an excellent choice on my part, which shows I do make some occasionally. It is well written and superbly read, with wry, dry humour and characters that don't just live but are likeable, and I really wanted to see how it would pan out. I subsequently got 'Hollow chocolate bunnies of the apocalypse' which I also enjoyed. In a publishing world where clones of success swarm, Rankin and his work stand apart. You get the idea that he is a genuine story teller who wants about all to entertain, which certainly does. The only negative comment is that none of the rest of the series are available on audible. If they do become available I will be the first to buy.
Read full review

- John

Best Dressed Shaggy Dog in Show

I tried reading this several years ago, and got nowhere.
But this audio version was a joy. Unusually for an Audiobook - it benefitted from being read by the author. He has a great use of language and I don't know that anyone else would do it justice.
What's really special about this audiobook is that although it's a full and unabridged transcription, every bit of dialogue is acted out, by actors who sound fully engaged in what they are doing.
It was a real pleasure.
OK, some of the story is showing its age now, and some of the sound effects were a bit jarring, but it's well worth a credit to get such a well polished production.
Read full review

- David

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-07-2006
  • Publisher: SmartPass