The Bloody Ground : Starbuck Chronicles

  • by Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by Andrew Cullum
  • Series: Starbuck Chronicles
  • 14 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The fourth volume of Bernard Cornwell's best-selling series on the American Civil War and featuring rebel Nathaniel Starbuck - a yankee fighting for the Southern cause.
It is late summer 1862 and the Confederacy is invading the United States of America.Nate Starbuck, a northern preacher's son fighting for the rebel South, is given command of a punishment battalion - a despised unit of shirkers and cowards. His enemies expect it to be his downfall, as Starbuck must lead this ramshackle unit into a battle that will prove to be the bloodiest of the Civil War.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

please finish the Starbuck Chronicles

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I really love these books and hope that Cornwell gets around to finishing the story. I realise that the money was in writing the Sharpe books another favorite of mine but that wasa while back and there is such a rich backdrop in the American Civil war for Nate to be involved in.

What was one of the most memorable moments of The Bloody Ground?

The battle of Antietam

Which character – as performed by Andrew Cullum – was your favourite?


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?


Read full review

- John

cracking adventure

The last in the Starbucks series-so far-and a riving listen as well as giving an insight into the American Civil War not easily found elsewhere.
Read full review

- Mr Francis G Hooper

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-11-2014
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited