The Clicking of Cuthbert and Other Golf Stories

  • by P. G. Wodehouse
  • Narrated by Jonathan Cecil
  • 6 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Clicking of Cuthbert is a collection of ten short stories by P. G. Wodehouse, as well as the name of the collection's namesake story. The stories' common subject matter is the sport of golf, its players, culture, and history; the first story in the collection introduces the Oldest Member, a repeat Wodehouse character, who narrates all stories but the last.
The Oldest Member knows everything that has ever happened on the golf course - and a great deal more besides. Take the story of Cuthbert, for instance. He's helplessly in love with Adeline, but what use are his holes in one when she's in thrall to Culture and prefers rising young writers to winners of the French Open? But enter a Great Russian Novelist with a strange passion, and Cuthbert's prospects are transformed. Then look at what happens to young Mitchell Holmes, who misses short putts because of the uproar of the butterflies in the adjoining meadows. His career seems on the skids - but can golf redeem it?
In this collection, the kindly but shrewd gaze of the Oldest Member picks out some of the funniest stories Wodehouse ever wrote.
The stories included are: "The Clicking of Cuthbert", "A Woman Is Only a Woman", "A Mixed Threesome", "Sundered Hearts", "The Salvation of George Mackintosh", "Ordeal by Golf", "The Long Hole", "The Heel of Achilles", "The Rough Stuff", and "The Coming of Gowf".


What the Critics Say

"Wonderful, comical golf stories." (John Updike)
"[The stories] are sheer, kick-your-heels-up bliss." (Lynne Truss)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Cecil shines

Jonathan Cecil shines. He makes Wodehouse's words dance and sing. There is no better performance artist of Wodehouse than Jonathan Cecil. He is simply the best - period!
Read full review

- PeterH

Book Details

  • Release Date: 27-11-2007
  • Publisher: Audible Studios