The Damned of Petersburg : The Civil War Series

  • by Ralph Peters
  • Narrated by Peter Berkrot
  • Series: The Civil War Series
  • 13 hrs and 46 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Ralph Peters returns with the fourth installment in his Boyd Award-winning series on the Civil War.
Glory turned grim, and warfare changed forever.
From the butchery of the Crater, where stunning success collapsed into a massacre, through near-constant battles fought by heat-stricken soldiers to the crucial election of 1864, The Damned of Petersburg resurrects the American Civil War's hard reality, as plumes and sabers gave way to miles of trenches.
Amid the slaughter of those fateful months, fabled leaders - Grant and Lee, Winfield Scott Hancock and A. P. Hill - turned for help to rising heroes, Confederates like "Little Billy" Mahone and Wade Hampton, last of the cavaliers, and Union warriors such as the tragedy-stricken Francis Channing Barlow and the fearless Nelson Miles, a general at 24.
Ralph Peters does not forget the men in the ranks, the common soldiers who paid the price for the blunders of commanders who would never know their names. In desperate battles now forgotten - such as Deep Bottom, Globe Tavern, and Reams Station - soldiers on both sides were pushed to the last human limits but fought on as their superiors struggled to master a terrible new age of warfare.
The Damned of Petersburg revives heroes aplenty, enriching our knowledge of our most terrible war, but above all this novel is a tribute to the endurance and courage of the American soldier, North and South.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Just superb

Once again a winner from Ralph peters with the only books to get right inside the grim bitter battles of the campaigning around Petersburg
This must be some of the best military fiction ever written only comparable to harry sidebottom s warrior of Rome saga in my estimation
Read full review

- Chosroes

Book Details

  • Release Date: 28-06-2016
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.