The Debutante

  • by Kathleen Tessaro
  • Narrated by Jane Collingwood
  • 6 hrs and 35 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Endsleigh House stands, crumbling and gracious, on the south-west coast of England, its rooms shut up and dusty. But what secrets do they hold?
Cate, an exile from New York, is sent to help value the contents of the once-grand Georgian house. Cataloguing its' contents with Jack - a man with his own dark past, she comes across a hidden shoebox containing an exquisite pair of dancing shoes from the 1930s, along with a mysterious collection of objects: a photograph, a dance card, and a Tiffany bracelet.
Returning to London, rather than face the questions lingering in her own life, Cate immerses herself in piecing together the clues contained in the box to uncover a story, that of Irene Blythe and her sister Diana - two of the most famous debutantes of their generation.
The tale that unfolds is one of dark, addictive love, and leads Cate to face up to secrets of her own. Can the secrets of Baby Blythe's past change Cate's own ability to live and love again?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Book we enjoyed most in 2010

My wife and I did not know the author or the narrator, but liked the sound of the storyline, and were not disapointed. Absorbing and very well read.
Read full review

- Laurence

Rushed ending to an otherwise enjoyable book

A story involving two time lines, where, as is often the case with this type of scenario, I was more drawn towards the older story and characters, set in the 30's and very early 40's rather than the contemporary tentative romance. This book offers nothing new, but it's a moving tale nonetheless, with characters very well drawn and excellently read - I was always keen to listen to a little more. For such a well paced book I personally thought that the ending was both rushed and somewhat unsatisfying - but that may just be me. I would recommend a listen to come to your own conclusion.
Read full review

- Linda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-04-2010
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited