The Dust That Falls from Dreams

  • by Louis de Bernières
  • Narrated by Avita Jay, David Sibley
  • 17 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the brief golden years of King Edward VII's reign, Rosie McCosh and her three very different sisters are growing up in an eccentric household in Kent, with their neighbours the Pitt boys on one side and the Pendennis boys on the other. But their days of childhood adventure are shadowed by the approach of war that will engulf them on the cusp of adulthood.
When the boys end up scattered along the Western Front, Rosie faces the challenges of life for those left behind. Confused by her love for two young men - one an infantry soldier and one a flying ace - she has to navigate her way through extraordinary times. Can she and her sisters build new lives out of the opportunities and devastations that follow the Great War?
Louis de Bernières' magnificent and moving novel follows the lives of an unforgettable cast of characters as they strike out to seek what happiness can be built from the ruins of the old world.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


if I am honest this is a difficult one to review. the story meandered, it kept me fairly entertained for the most part, some parts I thought were laboured and did not add much to the overall story. perhaps there are deeper meanings that I need to think about and search for, I also felt that there was lot left unsaid which left me feeling a bit disconnected to the characters. the narrator however was very good, excellent characterisation and conveyed the essence of the characters very well.
Read full review

- Mrs

The dust that falls from dreams

A rather morbid book concerning an middle-class family and the tragedy of the Great War and the related problems of love and disappointment in the following years. I thought that it plodded along and didn't have the flow of other devices Bernieres stories I have read previously.
Read full review

- tony

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-07-2015
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks