Summary

The Eagle's Prey is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's best-selling Eagles of the Empire series. A must-listen for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.
It is late summer AD 44, and the battle-weary Roman legions are in their second year of campaigning against the British tribes. The troops' commander, General Plautius, is under pressure from the emperor to crush the natives once and for all.
Centurions Macro and Cato are with the crack Second Legion under the precarious leadership of Centurion Maximus, and it's their task to hold a ford across the river Tamesis when the natives are forced into a trap. But Maximus' nerve breaks at the critical point, allowing the enemy leader, Caratacus, and his men to escape.
Outraged by this failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit. Their choice: die, or escape to become fugitives pursued by soldiers of their own ruthless army. Hiding from their former comrades as well as the Britons, Cato's small band of fugitives have only one chance to redeem themselves before they are hunted down like animals.
©2004 Simon Scarrow (P)2017 Headline Digital
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Simon on 02-06-17

Pawns Are Important Too!

Once again our two heroes battle it out with both the belligerent British and the enemies from within including both incompetent senior officers and the devious upper echelons of the Roman army and Roman politics. This is a series that contains a lot of very good historical detail without ever taking itself too seriously. The chemistry between the introspective and academically-minded Cato and the bluff, straightforward Macro are what really makes these books. There is also of course great battle action plus some clever intrigue and with Jonathan Keeble at the microphone it will always get a fine airing.

As I get into the later stages of the series it will be interesting to see if Simon Scarrow manages to keep up this good form. So far, and for the next two which I have also read previously, so good.

Read more Hide me

4 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By A on 21-05-18

AWESOME reading continues!

having real problems putting this series down, fantastic books indeed. This brings Roman Britain to life again while deepening the insight into Cato and Macros characters. will be starting the next book straight away!

Read more Hide me
See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Timothy on 09-09-17

Solid Book.

Solid book. Narrator was good but enjoyed the narrator of the first two books better.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Stephen on 22-04-17

Glad I finally got to hear it

I travel constantly so audiobooks are about the only way I get to read - and I don't know why Cato & Macro 4 & 5 were never available in the States, but I'm glad they finally are. I can give a review in one sentence: I liked the book so much I finished it in less than a day.

Read more Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all reviews