The Forsytes

  • by John Galsworthy
  • Narrated by full cast, Jessica Raine, Joseph Millson
  • 3 hrs and 30 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Joseph Millson and Jessica Raine star in a brand new BBC Radio 4 full-cast dramatisation of the first two books in John Galsworthy's saga of the Forsyte family in the early 20th century.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Prepare to surrender three and a half hours of your life. At least the dog will get a longer than expected walk. Quite wonderful.
Read full review

- ljcn

Absolutely brilliant

What made the experience of listening to The Forsytes the most enjoyable?

Jessica Raine's narration, the music, the quality of the acting, the casting, the pace of the storytelling were all superb. The full cast dramatisation is the best version of the Forsyte saga - better than any of the TV series.

What did you like best about this story?

Very moving, engaging story of a family through the generations with plenty of drama and never a dull moment. Beautifully told.

What about the narrators’s performance did you like?

The emotion in her voice, the beautiful tone and perfect diction make this a joy to listen to, but all the actors are first rate.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It was extremely moving and unforgettable.

Any additional comments?

As others have said, I wish Audible would get the third part of this dramatisation (The Conclusion).
Even without it the first two sections are fantastic and I could listen to them many times over with great pleasure.

Read full review

- E.Meredith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-05-2016
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited