The Four Swans : Poldark

  • by Winston Graham
  • Narrated by Oliver J. Hembrough
  • Series: Poldark
  • 18 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Four Swans is the sixth novel in Winston Graham's sweeping series of Cornwall, Poldark.
Cornwall, 1795-1799. Although Ross Poldark - now something of a war hero - seems secure in his hard-won prosperity, a new dilemma faces him in the sudden infatuation of a young naval officer with his wife, Demelza.
All four women - the four swans - whose lives touch Ross' face a crisis in these years. For his wife, Demelza; his old love, Elizabeth; his friend's new wife, Caroline; and the unhappy Morwenna Chynoweth, these are times of stress and conflict.


What the Critics Say

"From the incomparable Winston Graham...who has everything that anyone else has, and then a whole lot more." ( Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant, but when will The Angry Tide be on Audibe?

As with the previous books this is a great story that superbly captures eighteenth century life and Cornwall in particular. In is brilliantly brought to life by Oliver Hembrough who manages to perfectly capture the voices of all the main characters.
In the Poldark series books 5,6&7 go together in close sequence (they were written together within a few years in the 1970s and film as a series by the BBC) so I can't understand why book 7, The Angry Tide, is not available to enjoy.
Read full review

- Nick

The series just gets better and better!

The narrator does an excellent job of bringing the characters in these books alive.
Each book is more gripping than the previous one!
Very frustrating that books 7 and onwards are not available in audio format. Come on Audible we want more from the Poldark series by Oliver Hembrough!
Read full review

- Leyla

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-03-2016
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd.