The Girl from the Tea Garden : India Tea

  • by Janet MacLeod Trotter
  • Narrated by Sarah Coomes
  • Series: India Tea
  • 17 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the dying days of the Raj, Anglo-Indian schoolgirl Adela Robson dreams of a glamorous career on the stage. When she sneaks away from school in the back of handsome Sam Jackman's car, she knows a new life awaits - but it is not the one she imagined.
In Simla, the summer seat of the Raj government, Adela throws herself into all the dazzling entertainments 1930s Indian society can offer a beautiful debutante. But just as her ambitions seem on the cusp of becoming reality, she meets a charming but spoilt prince, setting in motion a devastating chain of events.
The outbreak of the Second World War finds Adela back in England - a country she cannot remember - without hope or love, and hiding a shameful secret. Only exceptional courage and endurance can pull her through these dark times and carry her back to the homeland of her heart.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

loved this trilogy

I lived the first book took a while but then settled in to it, the third book I loved. I like how all the jigsaw pieces fitted together - all in all a marvellous story xx
Read full review

- Caroline Munday

Excellent read.

Any additional comments?

I listened to all three books in this triology consecutively and they didn't disappoint. I loved the characters and felt I was really engaged with them. The storyline holds its own until the end and certainly doesn't disappoint. I also enjoyed the historical aspect of the story, learning much about India and Indian nations during British occupation. All together, stories that flow well, are totally believable and are character driven.

Read full review

- Sue

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-12-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio