The Green Gaunlet

  • by R. F. Delderfield
  • Narrated by Jonathan Oliver
  • 18 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Paul and Claire Craddock have grown older in years - but not in spirit. World War II is over. But there are new battles to be fought and won. The new property laws enable speculators to reap huge profits from agricultural lands, and Paul’s livelihood is threatened. With the help of his family, Paul struggles to preserve the happiness and peace he has built up over the years. In doing so, he comes to discover deeper, richer ties with those around him...


What the Critics Say

"Mr Delderfield's manner is easy, modest, heartwarming" (Evening Standard)
"His narratives belong in a tradition that goes back to John Galsworthy and Arnold Bennett" (Life Magazine)
"R F Delderfield is a born storyteller" (Sunday Mirror)
"Sheer, wonderful storytelling" (Chicago Tribune)
"It is always a pleasure to read R F Delderfield, because he never seems to be ashamed of writing well... Today he is a bestseller wherever English language books are read" (Books and Bookmen)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A Fitting Finish To A Lovely Trilogy

Any additional comments?

Having now listened to all three books in this series, I can now sit back and have a little contented sigh to myself. I have really enjoyed this trilogy and feel all the T's have been crossed and I's have been dotted. Jonathan Oliver's narration has been consistent and a joy to lisen to.
It's not a deep and meaningful series by any stretch, but if you're looking for a relatively gentle listen, then I would recomend this series.

Read full review

- Julie


Over the past week I've spent many happy hours listening to the trilogy and thoroughly enjoyed them. They were very well read and my first experience of audio books has been a very positive one.

The final book in the trilogy brought everything to a close quietly and well.
Read full review

- Merrythought

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-04-2014
  • Publisher: Oakhill Publishing