The Handfasted Wife : Daughters of Hastings

  • by Carol McGrath
  • Narrated by Heather Wilds
  • Series: Daughters of Hastings
  • 12 hrs and 8 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Handfasted Wife is the story of the Norman Conquest from the perspective of Edith (Elditha) Swanneck, Harold's common-law wife. She is set aside for a political marriage when Harold becomes king in 1066. Determined to protect her children's destinies and control her economic future, she is taken to William's camp when her estate is sacked on the eve of the Battle of Hastings. She later identifies Harold's body on the battlefield, and her youngest son becomes a Norman hostage.
This is an adventure story of love, loss, survival, and reconciliation.


What the Critics Say

"Moving, and vastly informative, a real page-turner of a historical novel." (Fay Weldon)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Abandoned Audio to read on Kindle

Any additional comments?

I bought this book for Kindle and Audible, but I abandoned the audio version before the end of the prologue. The narrator's voice was monotonous and without any feeling for the content. I rely on audiobooks for company while I do routine jobs, but I'll read the rest of this one on Kindle. I can't comment on the story or give a meaningful overall review yet, but I wouldn't advise any reader sensitive to vocal performance to buy this audiobook.

Read full review

- Mrs. J. Slade

Spoilt by narration

I enjoyed this authentic story based on the life of Elditha, Edith Swan Neck, and would like to read the second book in this series. However, I shall be purchasing the book to read myself. I'm afraid that for me this audio book was ruined by the narration. Perfect though the enunciation was, the reading lacked any expression - at times it sounded like the recitation of a shopping list. The attempts at regional accents were ridiculous. I found this so irritating at times that I almost abandoned the book!
Read full review

- Glitzy Goose

Book Details

  • Release Date: 31-03-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio