The Kicking the Bucket List

  • by Cathy Hopkins
  • Narrated by Juanita McMahon, Gabrielle Glaister, Anne Dover
  • 12 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mum always knows best....
The stunning debut for fans of Celia Imrie and Dawn French.
Meet the daughters of Iris Parker. Dee, sensitive and big-hearted; Rose, uptight and controlled; and Fleur, the reckless free spirit.
At the reading of their mother's will, the three estranged women are aghast to discover that their inheritance comes with very tricky strings attached. If they are to inherit her wealth, they must spend a series of weekends together over the course of a year and carry out their mother's bucket list.
But one year doesn't seem like nearly enough time for them to move past the decades-old layers of squabbles and misunderstandings. Can they grow up for once and see that Iris' bucket list was about so much more than money?

More

What the Critics Say

"Warm, wise and full of heart.... I absolutely loved this book." (Lucy Diamond, author of Summer at Shell Cottage)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Anyone with a complex relationship with their siblings will relate

Really beautifully narrated, and the story is very compelling. It describes very gently and beautifully a complex relationship between the three sisters in older age, and gently reminds us things aren't always what they seem in life. Truly heartwarming. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Read full review

- ShiriBiri

Interesting, shame about the 'self-helpidness'

What did you like most about The Kicking the Bucket List?

Good story, well narrated and poignant


What did you like best about this story?

The characters were great and believable...


Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I found it engaging, but as the story moved on I couldn't help wondering if it might be better on the self-help section. It's attention to detail in the loss and grieving process started to disengage my interest as a novel, but could easily see how it would be helpful to others.


Read full review

- Mama C

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-03-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited