The Lady's Command : The Adventurers Quartet

  • by Stephanie Laurens
  • Narrated by Steve West
  • Series: The Adventurers Quartet
  • 9 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

How does marriage work? If convention is set aside and is no longer there to guide...what then?
The instant Captain Declan Frobisher lays eyes on Lady Edwina Delbraith, he knows she's the woman he wants as his wife. The scion of a seafaring dynasty accustomed to success, he discovers that wooing Edwina is surprisingly straightforward - not least because she makes it plain that she wants him as much as he wants her.
Declan's vision of marriage is of a gently reared wife to grace his arm, manage his household, and bear his children. He assumes that the household, children, and wife will remain safely in England while he continues his life as an explorer sailing the high seas, and he gets his wish - up to a point. He and Edwina are wed, but the rest of his vision doesn't turn out the way he expected.
Even before the knot is tied, Edwina shatters the illusion that her character is as delicate, ethereal, and fragile as her appearance suggests. Far from adhering to orthodox mores, she and her ducal family are even more unconventional than the Frobishers. Beneath her fairy-princess exterior, Edwina possesses a spine of steel - one that might bend but will never break. So mere weeks into their honeymoon, when Declan is required to sail to West Africa, Edwina knows she must accompany him.
A secret mission with unknown villains flings unexpected dangers into their path as Declan and Edwina discover that making an unconventional marriage work requires something they both possess: bold and adventurous hearts.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is a great read. Each of the four books in the series deals with one of four sea faring brothers. While each book is complete in itself, the plot is ongoing throughout all the books. Luckily this is Staphanie Laurens at her best. Otherwise it would be quite annoying having to read all four books in order to reach a satisfactory conclusion. Great way for an author to ensure all the books in a series are read.
Read full review

- Reader

Book Details

  • Release Date: 29-12-2015
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.