The Land of My Dreams : War at Home

  • by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  • Narrated by Penelope Freeman
  • Series: War at Home
  • 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1916, the people are settling down to the business of war. As conscription reaches into every household, Britain turns out men and shells in industrial numbers from army camps and munitions factories up and down the land.
Bobby Hunter gains his wings and joins his brother in France. Ethel, the under housemaid, embarks on a quest, and Laura sets out on her biggest adventure yet. Diana finds a second chance at happiness in the last place she'd think of looking, and Beattie's past comes back to haunt her. But as the Battle of the Somme grinds into action, the shadow of death falls over every part of the country, and the Hunter household cannot remain untouched.
This is the third book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1916, this is a richly researched and wonderfully authentic family drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.


What the Critics Say

"An insightful look at the impact of war on everyday lives." (Choice)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Keeps Getting Better

What more can I say about this series. Just gets better and better. Wonderful characters and their stories are, in this third instalment, really developing. Fabulous narration too.
Read full review

- caz2

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-06-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK