The Lemon Tree Café

  • by Cathy Bramley
  • Narrated by Colleen Prendergast
  • 13 hrs and 42 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Lemon Tree Café was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one package.
A deliciously cosy story of family, friendship and a little dolce vita, perfect for fans of Milly Johnson, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Pretty pointless...

This book is yet another disappointment from Cathy Bramley. The story seems to have been written just for the sake of it and although it does seem to be a sequel to 'The Plumberry School of Comfort Food' as several of the same characters are featured, the plot-line just plods on & on & on...it took until part 2 to actually explain something that was prior just alluded to, however I was so very bored by them that I actually did not care what what was happening/ had happened to the characters. The narration is dreadful and although it is the same narrator as 'The Plumberry School of Comfort Food' the main character has a completely different voice and accent now in 'The Lemon Tree Cafe' so there is no continuity. I wish I had not wasted a credit on this book and I will be contacting customer service to make a complaint as I have not even been able to listen to the end as it is so awfully dreary and pointless.
Additionally some of the plot-line seems remarkably similar to Alexandra Brown's book 'The Great Village Show'.
This is my last attempt to listen to a Cathy Bramley title if Colleen Prendergast continues to narrate the books as she has done fo the past 7 audio titles.
Read full review

- Lie Back & Listen

Actually quite good

Would you listen to The Lemon Tree Café again? Why?

Maybe. It had a few twists and turns, not normally seen in this style of book.


What was one of the most memorable moments of The Lemon Tree Café?

Interesting family dynamics. I like the bits about building up the business and trying to come up with new ideas etc.


Have you listened to any of Colleen Prendergast’s other performances? How does this one compare?

About the same.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes


Any additional comments?

Much better than previous book. This one had some surprises. Still too much romance for me. And the main character is completely different to her personality in previous book. People can change, but not like this; so was unrealistic.

Read full review

- Rory

Book Details

  • Release Date: 24-08-2017
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks