The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules : Little Old Lady

  • by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
  • Narrated by Patience Tomlinson
  • Series: Little Old Lady
  • 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous, and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle.
Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause an uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old-aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off...
Perfect for fans of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.

More

What the Critics Say

"At last, a novel that puts old people in the driving seat and gives them personalities... I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and began to wonder whether I should embark on a life of crime myself." (Socialist Worker)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The League of Pensioners is looking for funds....

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Definitely, it was one of the most enjoyable audiobooks I have listened to. The story was perfect, an interesting plotline and really funny. The reading was exquisite. I've already ordered a paperback book for a friends birthday and my mother-in-law has ordered the kindle-edition after I told her about it.


What did you like best about this story?

Everything really, the book is about some pensioners who are living in a retirement home that is cutting costs. No more buns with the coffee, no outings, no more Christmas decorations! It looks like prisoners have it better then them and so 5 of them (the choir-gang) decides to start on a life of crime. It is nice to see them planning and working in the gym to get fitter and trying to get a better life for themselves. Every charachter is really worked out, I could really put myself in each of their places. There are a quite a lot of coincidences in this book but it just makes it all the more interesting.
It is also nice to listen to a book that is exciting and funny all the time.


Have you listened to any of Patience Tomlinson’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Have not heard this reader before, but really enjoyed it!


Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

It was really funny. I almost had a constant smile on my face while listening to this book. And afterwards I was always in a really good mood!


Any additional comments?

Don't think about it any more, just download this book today!

Read full review

- Brooksies

BELIEVEABLE

What made the experience of listening to The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules the most enjoyable?

It was nice to think that it could be your Granny that was doing this and breaking the rules - it was believeable.


What did you like best about this story?

That it could be my Granny being the lead character.


Which scene did you most enjoy?

The beginning when the old lad goes into the bank to rob it but doesn't manage it (obviously you think to start with).


If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

The one that they used


Any additional comments?

Great book will definitely listen to it again and also recommend to family and friends.

Read full review

- Marianne Buck

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-12-2013
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd