Summary

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous, and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle.
Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause an uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old-aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off...
Perfect for fans of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.
©2012 Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg (P)2013 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic reviews

"At last, a novel that puts old people in the driving seat and gives them personalities… I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and began to wonder whether I should embark on a life of crime myself." (Socialist Worker)
Show More Show Less

Regular price: £21.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By ElizabethLovick on 31-12-14

Great for the first two hours...

The book started well, and I enjoyed the first couple of hours. It then got very silly and boring, and I didn't finish it.

The premise is a good one, and the characters, although extreme, are engaging. But the situation gets too unbelievable and silly. At the point where where I thought 'That wouldn't work' I lost interest.

But it would make a very good sitcom...

Read more Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Andrew on 13-07-14

Funny endearing adventure rooting for the oldies!

What made the experience of listening to The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules the most enjoyable?

The narration was really suited to the story, lighthearted easy to follow and forever cracking a smile.

What did you like best about this story?

Although simple, the way the story weaved from unlikely situation to the next was great, highly enjoyable.

Have you listened to any of Patience Tomlinson’s other performances? How does this one compare?

This is the first one Ive listened to, but would listen to others in the future

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Oldtimers keen to get more from life than a bus pass

Any additional comments?

If you liked 'the 100 year old man who climbed out of the window' you will love this.

Read more Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Kim Hannan on 18-11-17

Boring

I picked this book because of the narrator, l’ve enjoyed many of her books before, but story was very slow, l was glad when it finished

Read more Hide me
3 out of 5 stars
By Jenny on 18-02-14

The Winner Takes It All; or Practise Makes Perfect

Is there anything you would change about this book?

It is a long book. Within it there are 3 sections in each of which a significant crime is committed. This is a great structure. But the book is filled with back story and explanation of character's observations and responses. Personally I think it needs a very severe edit in order to bring the focus much more clearly onto the crimes and their intentions and results.

What could Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Less words. Too many descriptions and backstories.

Which scene was your favorite?

None of the scenes was particularly memorable to me. In spite of all the explanations and descriptions, the characters did not come alive to me. Having said that, I still think the concept in the book is terrific - that of elderly people grabbing life by the throat and shaking the gold from it.

Did The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules inspire you to do anything?

I haven't started planning a crime spree, but I think I will be very vigorous in editing my own writing.

Any additional comments?

So - I think - listen to this story when you need a long and meandering tale that has excellent concepts in it - grey power and the Zimmer Frame Gang standing up against the inequalities in their world - and told in a slightly amused, slightly ironic voice. But don't expect anything profound.

Read more Hide me
See all reviews