The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules : Little Old Lady

  • by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
  • Narrated by Patience Tomlinson
  • Series: Little Old Lady
  • 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous, and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle.
Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause an uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old-aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off...
Perfect for fans of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.

More

What the Critics Say

"At last, a novel that puts old people in the driving seat and gives them personalities… I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and began to wonder whether I should embark on a life of crime myself." (Socialist Worker)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Worth a listen.

Very entertaining story, light hearted humour. Being translated from Swedish doesn't detract too much from the enjoyment.
Read full review

- E. Matthews

Not for me

I. started to listen to this on the way to work each morning, but by the 3rd day I'm afraid I am pretty bored with it.
It's more like a children's story to me, and the narrator reads as if you are likely to have trouble understanding.
I've given up by chapter 7
Read full review

- Angela

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-12-2013
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd