The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules : Little Old Lady

  • by Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg
  • Narrated by Patience Tomlinson
  • Series: Little Old Lady
  • 12 hrs and 15 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules is an incredibly quirky, humorous, and warm-hearted story about growing old disgracefully - and breaking all the rules along the way! 79-year-old Martha Andersson dreams of escaping her care home and robbing a bank. She has no intention of spending the rest of her days in an armchair and is determined to fund her way to a much more exciting lifestyle.
Along with her four oldest friends - otherwise known as the League of Pensioners - Martha decides to rebel against all of the rules imposed upon them. Together, they cause an uproar with their antics protesting against early bedtimes and plasticky meals. As the elderly friends become more daring, they hatch a cunning plan to break out of the dreary care home and land themselves in a far more attractive Stockholm establishment. With the aid of their Zimmer frames, they resolve to stand up for old-aged pensioners everywhere - Robin Hood style. And that's when the adventure really takes off...
Perfect for fans of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel. Translated by Rod Bradbury.

More

What the Critics Say

"At last, a novel that puts old people in the driving seat and gives them personalities... I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and began to wonder whether I should embark on a life of crime myself." (Socialist Worker)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great for the first two hours...

The book started well, and I enjoyed the first couple of hours. It then got very silly and boring, and I didn't finish it.

The premise is a good one, and the characters, although extreme, are engaging. But the situation gets too unbelievable and silly. At the point where where I thought 'That wouldn't work' I lost interest.

But it would make a very good sitcom...
Read full review

- ElizabethLovick

Funny endearing adventure rooting for the oldies!

What made the experience of listening to The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules the most enjoyable?

The narration was really suited to the story, lighthearted easy to follow and forever cracking a smile.


What did you like best about this story?

Although simple, the way the story weaved from unlikely situation to the next was great, highly enjoyable.


Have you listened to any of Patience Tomlinson’s other performances? How does this one compare?

This is the first one Ive listened to, but would listen to others in the future


If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Oldtimers keen to get more from life than a bus pass


Any additional comments?

If you liked 'the 100 year old man who climbed out of the window' you will love this.

Read full review

- Andrew

Book Details

  • Release Date: 16-12-2013
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd