The Little Theatre by the Sea

  • by Rosanna Ley
  • Narrated by Juliette Burton
  • 17 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The best-selling author of The Villa and The Saffron Trail returns with a gorgeous summer listen about love and starting over - set in West Dorset and beautiful Sardinia. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Harriet Evans.
Faye has just completed her degree in interior design when she finds herself jobless and boyfriend-less. While debating what to do next, she receives a surprise phone call from her old college friend Charlotte, who now lives in Sardinia and is married to Italian hotelier Fabio.
When Charlotte suggests that Faye relocate for a month to house-sit, Faye wonders if a summer break in sunny Sardinia might be the perfect way to recharge her batteries and think about her future. But then Charlotte tells Faye that there's something more behind the sudden invitation: her friends Marisa and Alessandro are looking for a designer to renovate a crumbling old theatre they own in the scenic village of Deriu. The idea certainly sounds appealing to Faye, but little does she know what she's letting herself in for if she accepts this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Awful!

If I could give a no star or minus star rating I would. I am not a romantic novel fan but have read Ms Ley's Saffron Trail and other earlier works wherein she told a strong story. This book is the total opposite, a storyline so thin as to be virtually non existent, maudlin and depressive in tone from start to finish. This booked contained no 'joy of life' at all. I'm not sure why I carried on listening as it was so aggravatingly bad! It's sad to say that many authors find a format that works and then do it to death, each tale worsening from the original. This is the case with Little Theatre By The Sea, Ms Ley met her Waterloo and was utterly defeated. This book would have made a better short story as it is at least four times longer than the plot could carry, and its target audience might be early teens. Such a huge let down in comparison to her earlier work.
Read full review

- Pat T

Another award winning story by Rosanna Ley.

Loved it! I've been totally transported to a life in Sardinia with never having been there. Such is the power of Rosanna ' s story telling. very evocative and incredibly insightful about relationships old & new. I'm addicted! x
Read full review

- Nicki John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-03-2017
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing