The Long Knives Are Crying

  • by Joseph M. Marshall
  • Narrated by Joseph M. Marshall
  • 19 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The second novel in Joseph M. Marshall III's acclaimed Lakota Western series begins in 1875, as Sitting Bull gathers thousands of Lakota to face the growing problem of white incursion. What follows is a sweeping tale of the Battle of the Little Bighorn, including the days and weeks leading up to the conflict and the remarkable defeat of General George Armstrong Custer and the Seventh Cavalry.Told for the first time from the Native perspective through the eyes of Lakota warrior Cloud, the story also weaves in the lesser-known but strategically important Battle of the Rosebud and the uncertain future that faced the Lakota following victory. Once again, Marshall infuses the story with his unique voice and eye for detail, creating a page-turning Western with a style of its own.


What the Critics Say

"[Marshall] brings the story of the Battle of Little Bighorn alive through the eyes and hearts of the American Indians." (Denver Post)
"I found myself brought into the Lakota world; Marshall does a superb job of showing how difficult things were becoming for the Lakota as their land was overtaken and the buffalo herds disappeared." (Historical Novels Review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Long Knives are Crying

This book takes you right into the mysterious and gentle world of the native american in spite of the violent nature of the clash of white and indigenous cultures. Joseph M Marshall is a wonderful story teller; and what a story!
Read full review

- mike

Disappointing Performance

What disappointed you about The Long Knives Are Crying?

This had the potential of being a great book, but the characters are too one dimensional and the story too often loses focus and wanders all over the place. I was also disappointed in the audio narration which is below the standard I have come to expect with audio books.

Read full review

- Michael H. Smith

Book Details

  • Release Date: 23-04-2009
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.