The Man Who Went Too Far: An E. F. Benson Ghost Story

  • by E. F. Benson
  • Narrated by Greg Wagland
  • 0 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Man Who Went Too Far: A Ghost Story by E. F. Benson opens one summer’s day in a beautiful, sequestered garden on the edge of the New Forest. A forty-something artist visits a friend to recuperate from a debilitating illness but is staggered to discover him looking remarkably young and oddly vibrant. He listens as this ‘boy’ explains his new found philosophy, expands on the delight he takes in the natural world all around him and describes the strangely haunting music he has begun to hear in the woods and among the reeds. Surely this bucolic idyll cannot last...
E. F. Benson is well known for his Mapp and Lucia novels but his ghost and supernatural stories are marvellous jewels, combining elegant writing and moments of blood-curdling horror. Here Greg Wagland narrates one of the best of them, for Magpie Audio.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A seductive yet sinister midsummer dream

A conversation between two men. One is 35 years old but still has the beauty and vigour of a much younger man. What is his secret? As the story unfolds we learn that beauty has a terrible price, but who can blame him for pursuing its ideals?

I chanced across this story while looking for some short stories and was immediately attracted to the bewitching picture of Pan and the mystery promised by the title. This is a beautifully written story that paints a lyrical and enchanting picture of the English countryside, still haunted by its pagan past. There is a collection of stories by E.F. Benson and read by Greg Wagland and judging by this performance I will be buying them immediately.
Read full review

- Kaggy


The man who went too far is a poetic piece like a long poem in the same ego as Dorian Grey. In life you can not get away from the pains of existence. Everything has a black & a white a left & a right a back & a forward. A colourful piece of work. Joy & pain are life.
Read full review

- Highlight

Book Details

  • Release Date: 20-09-2011
  • Publisher: Magpie Audio