The Odin Mission : Jack Tanner

  • by James Holland
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • Series: Jack Tanner
  • 12 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

April 1940: Nazi Germany has invaded neutral Norway. Fleeing north from their brutal blitzkrieg advance are three officers of the King's Guard - men who have been entrusted by the Norwegian King with a vitally important mission. The only military force which stands between the Nazi forces and total victory are the poorly equipped, undertrained squaddies of the British 148th Brigade. Among them is Sergeant Jack Tanner, recently returned from the Middle East. As the British are pushed back from Lillehammer, Sergeant Tanner and his patrol are left stranded in the mountains in the chaos of retreat. Trying to re-join their unit, they stumble first across Sandvold and his protectors, and then a French patrol of Alpine troops.
Trekking through snow-clad mountains with the Germans dogging their every move, Tanner is forced to try and out-fox and out-fight not only their pursuers but the best efforts of his own side. And as the Allies' resistance collapses, it quickly becomes clear that the small band of fugitives can rely on no one but themselves.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not very good

Would you try another book written by James Holland or narrated by Saul Reichlin?

I am an ex soldier myself and I found the story a bit corny. Saul reichlins narration style did not fit this Genre.

Has The Odin Mission put you off other books in this genre?

No but I would not choose to read or listen to a James Holland Book again.

Would you be willing to try another one of Saul Reichlin’s performances?

In a different Genre maybe

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

I just did not like it,It did not feel realistic to me.

Read full review

- Marc

A great wartine tale

Fascinating plot, fantastic historucal accuracy. Very nicely read, if slightly slow in delivery. An enjoyable listen.
Read full review

- Mrs

Book Details

  • Release Date: 19-10-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks