The Pagan Lord : The Last Kingdom Series

  • by Bernard Cornwell
  • Narrated by Matt Bates
  • Series: The Last Kingdom Series
  • 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The new novel in Bernard Cornwell's number one best-selling series The Warrior Chronicles, on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg.
Alfred the Great is dead and Edward his son reigns as king. Wessex survives but peace cannot hold. The Danes in the north, led by Viking Cnut Longsword, stand ready to invade and will never rest until the emerald crown is theirs. Uhtred, once Alfred's great warrior but now out of favour with the new king, must lead a band of outcasts north to recapture his old family home, that great Northumbrian fortress, Bebbanburg.Loyalties will be divided and men will fall, as every Saxon kingdom is drawn into the bloodiest battle yet with the Danes; a war which will decide the fate of every king, and the entire English nation.


What the Critics Say

"The best battle scenes of any writer I've ever read, past or present. Cornwell really makes history come alive" (George R.R. Martin)
"Cornwell draws a fascinating picture of England as it might have been before anything like England existed" ( The Times)
"He's called a master storyteller. Really he's cleverer than that" ( Telegraph)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Jonathan Keeble

Same as the last few reviews really, the books are great and really thrilling but they lack the passion because Jonathan Keeble is not the narrator
Read full review

- Lutall Laser Pointer Green

great story new, narrator again

The story is good as to be expected but I really wish they hadn't changed the narrator. The narrator at the beginning of the series was amazing and really brought all the characters to life. Then they changed him for a second guy who was good but not as good and we get to the seventh book and it's a new narrator again and to make it even more confusing this guy pronounces the names quite differently making it harder to follow the story. I don't think I'm going to buy the eighth book until they bring back one of the other two guys or I'll just read it.
Read full review

- shelley

Book Details

  • Release Date: 26-09-2013
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited